The Bruce Bolt Medal

bruce bold medal

Bruce Alan Bolt (1930-2005) was arguably the founder of Engineering Seismology.  Professor Bolt was both an internationally recognized seismologist and an elected Member of the National Academy of Engineering.  Among his many roles, he was the Founding President of COSMOS, President of SSA, President of IASPEI, and Chair of the California Seismic Safety Commission.  He was truly a pioneer at the intersection of Earthquake Science and Earthquake Engineering.

The Bruce Bolt Medal honors the legacy of Professor Bolt.  It is awarded jointly by Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI), the Consortium of Organizations for Strong Motion Observation Systems (COSMOS), and the Seismological Society of America (SSA) to recognize individuals worldwide who work at the intersection of Seismology and Earthquake Engineering, whose accomplishments involve the promotion and use of earthquake measurements, and whose leadership in the transfer of scientific and engineering knowledge into practice or policy has led to improved seismic safety.  The annual award is presented at the annual meeting of the recipient’s choice among the three sponsoring organizations.

Selection Criteria
In the spirit of Bruce Bolt’s contribution to the science, the chosen recipient must meet all of the below three (3) criteria:

  1. Promotion of strong-motion instrumentation or advancing strong-motion data processing or publicly-available data utilization;
  2. Technical contributions in earthquake engineering or engineering seismology; and
  3. Leadership in the transfer of knowledge into practice or policy that has led to improved seismic safety.

To learn more about the Bruce Bolt Medal and how to nominate someone for the 2022 Medal, visit: